Oct & Nov Faves // ’16

Hey y’all! Hope everyone has been staying warm and cozy as the temperatures have been dropping, can you believe it – we are already nearing the end of 2016 (say WHATTT!). I swear, time keeps flying by quicker and quicker as every year passes. I hope that everyone is getting just as excited for Christmas/the New Year as I am, because let’s face it – there’s no better time of the year than the holidays!

In any case – I thought it was that time again to run through my favourites for the months of October and November, so without further rambling, let’s get right on into it!

Beauty/Skin Care:

Ok, so I don’t have any make-up favourites for you guys this month, I just have a few of my essential skin care go-tos that I thought I’d give a mention that have been absolutely tops for me during these past two months. Here they are:

I hadn’t used a face scrub for a while, and I figured in the month of November that it was time that I look into getting one to start working on exfoliating my face again. I wanted to ensure two things with a face scrub that I chose, a) that it would be gentle enough to use daily, and b) that it was all natural, because who wants to use an exfoliator with those nasty plastic microbeads (these are absolutely TERRIBLE and TOXIC for the environment, as they don’t disintegrate when they go down into our sewages and drains and end up being eaten by the poor wildlife/animals in our oceans and lakes, so people – please do not use products with microbeads!!). I managed to find this awesome scrub by St Ives, which is a Green Tea Scrub made for Blackhead-prone skin. It smells absoutely awesome when you use it, and it is gentle enough to use on the daily and it uses 100% natural ingredients for its exfoliant scrub. I have noticed that my skin has been feeling much smoother as I have implemented using this in my beauty regime, and I highly, highly suggest it to anyone looking for a gentle, natural and inexpensive face scrub to take care of your skin.

Next up is my tried and true go-to foaming cleanser from Clean & Clear. Honestly, guys, I have used this makeup dissolving cleanser for YEARS now, so I thought it was time that I share it as one of my favourites. It’s truly a one-step product that helps to easily and quickly get rid of every ounce of make up and grime on your skin/face at the end of the day. I use it almost immediately when I step in the shower, and it is just so unbelievably easy/hassle-free, I love it. It is oil-free, and leaves my skin feeling fresh and clean after I use it. Works like a charm every time!

Ok, so I haven’t bought any creams from Bath & Body works in a while – but a friend of mine recently had a Bachelorette party where she received this Champagne Apple & Honey cream, and after smelling it, I knew I had to have it. It smells exactly of apple & honey, and is just such a delicious and warm scent for the fall/winter – it’s a lotion that it sure to keep you feeling cozy and moisturized whenever you use it. This is the perfect gift to treat yourself with or even a friend for Christmas!

I recently ran out of the hairspray that I had been using now for almost a year, so it was time to buy a new one and so I figured, why not try something new? I ended up picking out this TresSemme “Perfectly Undone” hair spray,  and bought it because the bottle specifically said that it would give your wavy hair natural movement when you used it and a “brushable hold”. This is exactly what I look for and need in a hairspray, as I hate when hair spray leaves my hair feeling like it is sticking completely in place and has no movement whatsoever (you know, that crusty, gross feeling that makes it feel like you have a helmet on for hair? Yeah… definitely not a good look/feel…). This hair spray definitely lived up to its promise, and has been great for those days where my curled/wavy hair needs a little help staying in place, but still has the freedom to move.

Fashion:

As it’s been getting chillier and chillier these past few months, what better time than now is there to cozy up with the perfect knitted hat and scarf? I’m not usually much of a hat gal, but I have been surprisingly really loving the pom-pom trend that has been going on lately in the hat/scarf world, so I thought I’d give it a go. This white knitted pom pom hat that I found gives me both warmth and that perfect snow-bunny look on the days when I need to keep my noggin toasty and covered from the cool, winter winds. To pair with it, I found this perfectly simple white and black striped-patterned scarf from H&M with the tassels at the end to wrap around my neck and keep me super cozy. These have definitely been my top winter accessories that are both cute and super practical for the season ahead.

Read:

I recently went on a little trip to Value Village with my dad to go thrifting for fun, and I came across this book while I was there, and I knew I had to pick it up. It definitely intrigued me – as it is a non-fictional book that details the author’s personal experience having a personal dialogue with God. This is the first of six books that the author Neale Donald Walsch has written about his interactions with God. It has definitely been a very interesting and insightful read, that has been rather timely for me in my own personal spiritual walk. The insights and commentary provided throughout the conversations remind me of great life truths and little bits of wisdom that are worth remembering as we walk through various seasons of life. Though I’m not sure if I agree with everything written in the book, there have been very eye-opening and profound thoughts outlined in it that I do think are worth considering and implementing into my outlook and perspective on the purpose of life and how to have the right and wise attitude and reaction to certain situations and life moments/hardships. Altogether, this was a great and encouraging read for me, and a book that I will likely return to again in the future for further learning and insight.

Random:

Being the tea lover that I am, you must know that I have a weakness for beautiful cups/mugs. I recently happened upon this adorable teacup while at Winners, and I couldn’t resist purchasing it. It’s one of the most delicate, beautiful cups I’ve seen, with its floral print and the coloured hummingbirds that accompany it. It makes for the perfect mug to relax at home with and to sip on some lovely hot drinks as you unwind in the day or evening.

Music:

I have been loving a lot of different music these past two month, but here are some of my faves:

I discovered the artist Wet a few years ago from a friend, however, I had never really listened to her music past the first two singles I’d heard. I thankfully was able to rediscover her music this past November, and I have been absolutely loving her album Don’t You. I adore her voice and the dreamy way that it carries each and every song. There’s a vulnerability and a soberness to her voice and the lyrics she pens, and I love soaking up every part of it.

My man JM is back (finally!) with a new tune – “Love on the Weekend”. I have been a fan of his for many years now, although, if I’m to be honest, I didn’t really love his most recent material for the last two albums he produced. However, this new tune brings me back to the sound of his older music in ways, and it is the perfect song to get lost in and to float away on a Friday (and ok, let’s be real, on any day of the week), to thoughts of the upcoming, glorious weekend ahead.

So there you guys have it, my November/December faves. Feel free to comment below and let me know your thoughts and if you have any favourites you’ve been dying to share, too!

Stay golden, mes amies!

Xoxo,

Meg

About the post

The Faves, Uncategorized

Leave a comment